Bonjour Strasbourg!

P3311796.JPGAh, Strasbourg; I visited it for the first time in my life about a month ago, and well and truly fell for the beauty of it. I can’t say whether it was the bright timber houses or the overall fairytale-esque feel of the place, but I fell for it.

The reason I went to Strasbourg was actually a rather cool one: I had been one of a few students who got chosen from my school after sitting for an entry test to go on the Euroscola trip. This meant that we were going to not only visit the European Parliament but alsP3311776.JPGo sit in the MEPs’ seats and have our own plenary session.

The first day in Strasbourg practically consisted solely of travelling, but the second day was packed with action. Once hopping off the tram at our stop we stood gazing at the beautiful EU Parliament building. It was massive, I can tell you that!

Our morning session lasted a few hours and during that time we had the chance to ask Michael Crammer, an MEP who was talking to us on a video call, some questions. I had prepared one beforehand and despite feeling as if I lacked the confidence to speak in front of some 570 people, knew that I would kick myself afterwards for losing the oppurtunity. In short, I was chosen to pose a question and with all the courage I could muster, stood up and spoke into the microphone on my desk.

If you have been following my blog for some time you may have probably noticed that I often write about our right to a freedom of expression (no surprise, really. I write a blog after all!) – if you have, you may have a hunch of what I asked Michael Crammer 😉  In simple terms, I asked him what the EU’s position is about libel suits and garnishee orders being used to bully and intimidate journalists, as is currently happening in Malta. He replied that for nearly thirty years he was “deemed an idiot” in Germany for strongly opposing nuclear power, and now here we are in 2017, working towards using renewable energy sources whilst trying to phase out nuclear power (a great ‘who’s laughing now’ moment, right?). His point was that freedom of speech is important because it helps bring change and limiting it is

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Timber houses in Petite France – this area practically screamed “Beauty and the Beast”

intolerable.

You have no idea how glorious it felt being addressed to personally about such a matter in the EU Parliament – I’ll never forget that feeling.

On our third day in Strasbourg, we visited the Court of Human Rights and the Council of Europe. We then walked through the city centre and one of the main roads, and if we turned at a 90 degree angle to our left we would have realised that we were standing beneath the great, gigantic intricately designed work of art that is the gothic Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Strasbourg. None of the dozen photographs I took of it can do it justice – it was so, so breath-taking. The view from the top was just as wonderful, if not more so – I can clarify this because we walked up the 300-something steps within the turrets. It was so unreal that it was as if one were looking down at an unrolled map or a little wooden model of Strasbourg.

P3301607.JPG
The Parliament
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Inside the hemicycle
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Poster at the Court of Human Rights
17760260_708632759316128_2135458236_n
Addressing Crammer in front of the hemicycle
20170401_093331.jpg
Street book fair (situated in the perfect place: close to the cathedral)
P3311792.JPG
Descending the turret

P3311777.JPG



And before I forget:

My shared Instagram page is picking up! We’ve been adding plenty of new photographs to it these past few days.

So if you’d like to check out our snaps, see the link below:

https://www.instagram.com/amycoramegan/

Be sure to have a look through our portfolio on Shutterstock, too:

https://www.shutterstock.com/g/Amy+Cora+Megan



As always, thanks for stopping by!

signature

One thought on “Bonjour Strasbourg!

Leave a Reply

